+ Post New Thread
General Chat Thread, Interview Dilemma. Please help in General; I dont know what to do with this job interview -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- HI folks Hope someone can help me with a ...
    Thank Post

Interview Dilemma. Please help

I dont know what to do with this job interview

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

HI folks

Hope someone can help me with a big dilema I have

I currently work as an IT administrator in a school, the school is about 20 miles away, and a few months ago I saw the perfect job advertised in the local paper at a University which is in my town. It was better pay and better prospects so I appled for it.

A month passed and I didnt hear anything, so thought I probably didnt get the job, but only this week i got a letter to say I have been chosen to participate in the selection process.

SO great I got an interview, but I have some concerns:

I am really happy with my current job, love working there and if it paid better i wouldnt go but this new job fits the job perfectly. I am worried if i didnt get selected the school will probably think that I am looking to move away from my current role which I am not and it might hamper my chances in the future to progress if i stayed.

I have put the principal down as a reference but have not told him that I have done this.

Do you think i should tell the school about the interview and if so is it in my best interests to tell them where it is?

I am bit concerned because the principal does have contacts and I am worried he might damage my chances for this new role because he will be so desperate to keep me. He considers me to be a good worker and role model.