+ Post New Thread
General Chat Thread, Shared Ownership Housing in General; Hi All looking into moving in with my other half this year, we dont have enough money for a deposit ...
    Thank Post
    Blog Entries

Shared Ownership Housing

Hi All

looking into moving in with my other half this year, we dont have enough money for a deposit on a mortgage (currently have ~2k in a savings account), but we dont want to be stuck paying rent for the rest of our lives. Is Shared ownership the way to go? We are looking to do it in the summer hopefully, as i get a pay rise in effect as of 1st April
    @Little-Miss i notice you started a thread on this a few years ago, any advice you can throw my way? did you go through with it?

Also as a side note, as i work in education can that qualify as being a key worker?

Look forward to hearing on thoughts.

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    I'm still renting.

It just didn't seem worth it when i looked into it and haven't looked any more into it since. So, sorry can't help.

zag
    Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by Tesla View Post
    Hi All

looking into moving in with my other half this year, we dont have enough money for a deposit on a mortgage (currently have ~2k in a savings account), but we dont want to be stuck paying rent for the rest of our lives. Is Shared ownership the way to go? We are looking to do it in the summer hopefully, as i get a pay rise in effect as of 1st April
    @Little-Miss i notice you started a thread on this a few years ago, any advice you can throw my way? did you go through with it?

Also as a side note, as i work in education can that qualify as being a key worker?

Look forward to hearing on thoughts.
    I've been in a shared ownership flat for 7 years now and love it but it does have some disadvantages. Its only really good if you can't get a mortgage for the total amount. You should still put down a 10% deposit on SO homes so keep saving hard.