+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
General Chat Thread, Job Advice in General; Hi All, I may be asking slightly to soon here but I'm looking for some job advice. I studied IT ...

Thank Post

Job Advice

Hi All,

I may be asking slightly to soon here but I'm looking for some job advice. I studied IT in college up to a HNC but I am looking at doing a couple of qualifications such as comptia a+/Network+ etc. Anyway presuming that I complete these courses I unfortunately live in mid wales which means very very limited career opportunities. However most of my family live here and me and my partner are quite settled here. I have been looking at jobs in London as I may be able to stay with family mon-fri in London and then go home at the weekend. What I really want to know is what would be my chances of getting a foot in the door at an IT company with this sort of setup and also what would be the best qualifications to do if I was looking at jobs such as Network Admin etc?

Cheers

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,892 Times in 1,406 Posts
    Blog Entries
    Doing it is fine, but the trouble you will find is the commute and finding somewhere to live will be more costly than the move to london. Plus with direct trains from London to Cardiff/Swansea and then appropriate connections from there, it wouldn't be a bad thing to move, as you wouldn't actually be that long away. However, if you can make the costs viable, it wouldn't be an issue, I believe @GrumbleDook does a 4 hour commute each way to wales every day from Northampton (I could be wrong).

An old colleague of mine did a 3 hour each way commute from Cardiff to Ashford, and ended up moving closer as the costs just got higher and higher and his wage didn't keep up with the costs.

Thank Post
    I suppose until I'm ready to actually apply for some jobs I won't know what the actual cost of doing like this will be. What qualifications would you recommend for someone looking to land a technician job?

Thank Post