+ Post New Thread
General Chat Thread, ICT Network Administrator Technical Test in General; I am a School Network Manager and we are interview for a 2nd / 3rd Line ICT Network Administrator on ...

Thank Post

ICT Network Administrator Technical Test

I am a School Network Manager and we are interview for a 2nd / 3rd Line ICT Network Administrator on Thursday. I have been asked to write a technical assessment for candidates to complete prior to interview.

Can anyone give me some guidance on the questions that I should ask?

Thank Post
    Question: Coffee

Answers:
    1. Yes please - Wrong
    2. Huh - Wrong
    3. Would you like milk and sugar with that? - This is your man

But seriously.... question them on group policy, active directory, operating system deployment, virtualisation, DNS etc.

Focus questions on those aspects around what you use currently and see what they've had experience with in the past. If you've had any recent issues with those aspects then focus a question around the problem you had and see what answers they come up with (not forgetting of course that one vague problem can have many possible answers, so focus on the thought process rather than the actual answer, as a 3rd line guy you want someone who's a good thinker and works through issues in a logical manner)

Lastly one thing no one ever seems to add in to interviews is problem and resolution tracking, change control and documentation. Many will say they do it, but try and get them to bring it up without you bringing it up directly.....a little difficult i admit but it's a vital part of IT.
    Last edited by mrbios; 12th November 2013 at 05:41 PM.

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,054 Times in 1,491 Posts
    Blog Entries