Poll: Should I be paid more?

Be advised that this is a public poll: other users can see the choice(s) you selected.

+ Post New Thread
General Chat Thread, Are you alone? in General; Hi, I have been working in my current job, Systems Manager for 8 years now. I work alone and have ...

Thank Post

Are you alone?

Hi,

I have been working in my current job, Systems Manager for 8 years now.

I work alone and have no assistants.

In my school we have 280 Client machines running XP and 5 Servers on 2K3, wiht a mixture of Exchange Server, Sharepoint, Joomla + Moodle.

With the exception of 2 Dell Servers and 100 laptops (which the hardware was already put together) I have built all the machines myself both software and hardware, I am fully responsible for all the network/phone infrastructure. I look after our website, video archives, IWBs (25 of) printers (20 of) digital cameras, CCTV, MIS, etc.

The school is a comprehensive 11-16 and has 560 students.

I am interested to find out how does this compare with some of you other guys out there?

Al the best,
    Dan.

Thank Post

Re: Are you alone?

Should you be paid more than what though?
    You could be already earning £30k and which case the answer is no
    Whats your salary?

Thank Post

Is enough ever enough

I'm dead happy with my job and pay. The poll was just a bit of fun though, I was just interested in the similarity of my job to others, seems like a lot of places around my way have 3 tech staff for similar workload!?

Thank Post
    Blog Entries

Well you do only have 5 servers and 560 students...

We have about 750 students, 12 mixed windows/linux servers, almost 300 XP clients including laptops, 35 IWBs, 35 network printers, website, SIMS, AV; and there are two of us.

Thank Post

This also brings up an important issue in regards to those of you who do work by them selves.