+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
General Chat Thread, Working in the Independent sector in General; Hi all, Has anyone here got any comments they'd be willing to share about working in the Independent sector? How ...

Thank Post

Working in the Independent sector

Hi all,

Has anyone here got any comments they'd be willing to share about working in the Independent sector? How is generally different to the state sector?

I'm being interviewed for a job at an Independent school on Monday and I'm trying to get a feel for the sort of things I should be aware of.

I'm very keen to get this job as it would be a fantastic move for me, so any info anyone can share would be much appreciated.

Cheers

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,070 Times in 626 Posts

Re: Working in the Independent sector

I work in the independent sector, lots of money for the IT side of things but that may of course depend on the school.......

Thank Post

you'll find that IT is different things to different people, some independent schools see it as a massive part of the school, others dont. Generally in independent schools they still look for value but they also look for quality.

you'll need to be a little more innoviate than in the maintained sector as there are fewer parties pushing for things to happen.

Thank Post

Although I don't work in the independant sector, I have a friend who does. He says that indie schools treat IT in a more business like way than state schools do. So, while state schools like all the kids to learn, the indie schools are more interested in getting their brand noticed, the equipment to be top-notch, and everything to run ultra-smooth.

Obviously, that is the opinion of one school, so it may not apply to you.

Thank Post