+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
General Chat Thread, IT Job + HND OR Degree in General; Hey, Brilliant forum here, i've enjoyed reading the opinions of others about topics relevant to myself. Here's my situation. I'm ...

Thank Post

IT Job + HND OR Degree

Hey,

Brilliant forum here, i've enjoyed reading the opinions of others about topics relevant to myself.

Here's my situation. I'm currently studying my A-levels ( I had an ABC in I.T , Business + Electronics at AS-level ) and planning on what to do next year. I've had alot of spare time in sixth form so I have been working as a website administrator & general IT guy for quite a large company ( £50m turnover + growing quickly ). I've also had some work experience with a web design agency.

A few weeks ago, the directors of the company were talking to me about what i was going to do after this year. They feel the company is lagging behind in the IT department - they have no real IT staff. The guy who deals with the IT also does the finances etc. They said there is an opportunity for me to take control of the IT for the company. Great? Job on a plate!! But, I'm worried about not having a degree and what would happen if the company sold out or something. I have researched into my local collage to see if they have any HE courses.

I found a HND in I.T on a day release course for 3 years, i really like this option because I will be getting Education, Experience & Money all at once. There is also a CCNA course available which I would like to take.

If I decided to take the university route, I'd lose my current IT job. I've contacted the university also to request a detailed description of the modules in the course and I found that the HND modules appealed to me more than the university ones did. Heres a few details on the HND:

HND Information Technology

90 credits from:

* Multimedia Systems Development 2 (15 credits)
    * Audio Visual Computing 2 (15 credits)
    * Application Development 2 (15 credits)