+ Post New Thread
General Chat Thread, Lead ICT Technician. What pay should you be looking at? in General; Hi, I'm currently a IT technician but have recently taken over the running of the entire network including 8 server, ...

Thank Post

Lead ICT Technician. What pay should you be looking at?

Hi,

I'm currently a IT technician but have recently taken over the running of the entire network including 8 server, vle and all the machines over 5 sites. There is also a possibility of a 6th site soon.

As I was doing all of this they said they will be offering me the position of lead ict technician and seemed to suggest band 8. We also have another lead technician (1 manager, 1 lead, 1 techy(me) and a temp techy at our place), I believe the other lead is on band 8 but not sure how/if it's possible to confirm this.

Today I've got in writing that I'm going to be staying on the same band but put to the top of the scale 17k. This means that there will also be no further increases either as once your at the top of the band your then stuck there.

To me I think that they are taking the mick but would like to know what others get in a similar job.

Thanks
    Last edited by dany2010; 16th April 2013 at 07:33 PM.

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,054 Times in 1,491 Posts
    Blog Entries
    That's more of the network manager role, so you need to have in writing your tasks. If they are offering £17k for the role and want you to do NM stuff, then ask for higher banding but a slightly lower start point, this way you can go up the scale as you progress.

When I finished in 1 school as the NM, I finished on £21.5k, and this was for 2 servers, 1 vle, 2 IT suites, 100 student laptops, 50 staff machines, plus the AV equipment and managing 2 members of staff and 6 apprentices.