+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
General Chat Thread, Tax in General; ...

Thank Post
    Blog Entries

Tax

Any experts on here regarding tax?

As most know I am a teacher and am happy to earn what I do. I pay the 40% rate of tax for earnings over £34,371.

AmI right in saying that people who work can write expenses against their tax return? So if I was to be paid for a piece of work (freelance consultant - £1500) and bought a 27" iMac out of that could I avoid paying tax on it instead of giving 40% of it to the taxman?

Did that make sense? I'm sure my builder friend has income and expenses which the accountant plays off against each other.

Or am I totally wrong - which is why I need an expert :-)

Gareth
    Last edited by garethedmondson; 3rd December 2012 at 09:58 PM. Reason: changed wording

Thank Post
    If you have self employed earnings then yes you can offset business expenses against tax, howver given the lifespan of a mac you would probably claim it over a 5 year period.

on your self assesment you would fill in your earnings from employment, earnings from self employment and expenses incured in the course of your business.

Rob

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,217 Times in 1,635 Posts
    You can claim tax against items necessary for your job such as uniform that you MUST wear to do it. But computer equipment is a grey area. If you were VAT registered you could reclaim the VAT, but I doubt you would be able to offset it against income tax.

My accountant husband is on the wrong continent at present, so I cannot confirm. Given that he's never pulled that one off for me, I assume it doesn't work

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by elsiegee40 View Post
    You can claim tax against items necessary for your job such as uniform that you MUST wear to do it. But computer equipment is a grey area. If you were VAT registered you could reclaim the VAT, but I doubt you would be able to offset it against income tax.