+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
General Chat Thread, Network Managers in private schools in General; I'm a Network manager in a secondary school and I'm curious to know if there are any NMs who work ...

Thank Post

Network Managers in private schools

I'm a Network manager in a secondary school and I'm curious to know if there are any NMs who work in Private schools or colleges?

I've never seen private school NM jobs advertised in my area and I'm suspecting private schools/colleges/universities will be the only places for me to find a job when BSK kicks in.

If anyone does work as an NM in a private school, can you tell me what the job description is like/payscales etc? I know of several private schools in my area and will be approaching them shortly.

Thank Post

Re: Network Managers in private schools

In my experience privates schools treat networks as a business system and so spend money on a managed solution rather than trying to do it inhouse.

Thank Post

Quote Originally Posted by strawberry
    In my experience privates schools treat networks as a business system and so spend money on a managed solution rather than trying to do it inhouse.
    And what about those who work in house treating it as a business system? If anything, experience shows managed services suck

Thank Post

Keep the faith...depending on where you are BSF is a LOOOOOONG way off in reality.

The last meeting I had with the LEA regarding BSF told me that they were looking to implement in 2011 at the earliest, with funding not being available till probably 5 years after that.

Personally after seeing the numbers quoted locally for just a rebuild of some schools, and refurb of others, I am highly skeptical that the money will be available in a few years time to carry on implementing.

Thank Post

We have BSF kicking at some of our schools in bristol. We are just gonna sit on the side line to see how "successful" it will be.

Thank Post

Quote Originally Posted by TeddyKGB