+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
General Chat Thread, Oil Cap in General; Over the weekend I heard a humming noise coming from my engine near the belt. (Corsa 58 Plate Active 1.2) ...

Thank Post

Oil Cap

Over the weekend I heard a humming noise coming from my engine near the belt. (Corsa 58 Plate Active 1.2) Everything looked normal turned the car off and it had gone, drove it for 10 mins and back again but then turned it off again and its not came back yet. I decided to check the obv bits on the car, when i checked my oil cap it had a milky substance on the cap. Has anyone got any advice im not good with cars.
    Thanks

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,129 Times in 863 Posts
    Blog Entries
    That's not good - that normally means water is mixing with the oil and that is an engine destroyer.
    On older cars that's a head gasket failure very typically, on newer (wow, this is happening on a 58plate?) it's probably a water pump gasket or similar. Either way do NOT DRIVE IT ANY FURTHER. Get it to a garage ASAP.

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,321 Posts
    Blog Entries
    Might be an idea to get the coolant system checked and flushed, without the proper additives things can get a bit squiffy in the cold. Just so long as there is not oil in it as then you need to get a compression test done to check for a head gasket issue. @Sirbendy is generally the one to ask about such things as his Car Fu is strong

Thank Post
    the mayo may just be down o moisture build up and can occur naturaly.

Does the car run and pull fine, has the water level dropped recently?

Thank Post