+ Post New Thread
Gaming Thread, Gaming software in Fun Stuff; Hi My 11 year old son is looking for some software that can help him design games, mainly building world ...
    Thank Post

Gaming software

Hi

My 11 year old son is looking for some software that can help him design games, mainly building world with characters. He's had a look at some of the free stuff out there but it doesn't seem to be what he's looking for. I'm just wondering if anyone out there can recommend anything free or paid for. He's quite technical and has started playing around with coding, programing and scripts but at a very basic level. I am an IT technician but I only deal with fixing things and installing things so any advice would be gratefully received.

Thanks in advance
    H

Thank Post
    Depends on what you mean by making games I guess, is it the actual coding/programming he wants to do? or is it more the high-end bits, aka design/gameplay etc?

One of our support schools uses this: GameMaker: Studio™ Free | YoYo Games

Combines bit more coding than flash stype, but can work on multiple devices etc too on the free one (Is paid for too if you like it)

Steve

Thank Post
    You could have a look at Kodu?

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,013 Times in 825 Posts
    Blog Entries
    As @Steve21 said, depends what he is looking at/thinking of in terms of game creation, but a good learning route for coding might be Java...

Greenfoot is a very smart gaming API for beginner coders.
    Something like BlueJ or straight into Netbeans to follow?

Opens up the world of Android coding and in turn the Ouya console is looking interesting.

Java is fully Object Oriented and what a lot of Uni's prefer to start on (or was when I went through uni) before launching into C/C++.

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,187 Times in 1,493 Posts
    Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by Oaktech View Post
    You could have a look at Kodu?