+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Enterprise Software Thread, Who has installed Zimbra ? in Technical; Following on from my last post last week in regards to Exchange - I am now looking at Zimbra. Now ...

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,068 Times in 625 Posts

Who has installed Zimbra ?

Following on from my last post last week in regards to Exchange - I am now looking at Zimbra. Now I have NO experience at all in setting up Exchange or Zimbra - the last time I worked with any mail solution was with Lotus notes and that was over 7 years ago.

So my question is this - who has setup Zimbra from scratch ? Was this an easy task and what is your overall impression of it.
    Thanks in advance.

Thank Post
    I set up Zimbra from scratch about 2 years ago. I think the recommended OS was CentOS, but I went with Ubuntu as it's what I know. I documented the process from start to finish, including SSO setups etc, which I might be persuaded to give you if you ask nicely

3. 2 Thanks to Hightower:

clarky2k3 (25th January 2011), mattx (25th January 2011)

Thank Post
    We have it here for a shared calender (unused) and im told the instructions are easy to follow and we didnt come up against any problems during the install so overall its easy to setup but we dont use it so I couldnt give you an overall impression of it.

Thank Post
    May I have a copy of the documentation pretty please Hightower

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Hightower View Post
    I set up Zimbra from scratch about 2 years ago. I think the recommended OS was CentOS, but I went with Ubuntu as it's what I know. I documented the process from start to finish, including SSO setups etc, which I might be persuaded to give you if you ask nicely
    I was thinking [ if we get it ] to stick it on [ hopefully - still got to get the hardware ] as a Virtual Server as it's part of VMWare.

My other concern is that I will have to buy another box for Spam and proxy server roles.

Thank Post