+ Post New Thread
Enterprise Software Thread, Gmail to Exchange Onsite in Technical; Good Afternoon everyone! I work for a small district with about 350 teacher users and 800 students. Currently we have ...

Thank Post

Gmail to Exchange Onsite

Good Afternoon everyone!

I work for a small district with about 350 teacher users and 800 students. Currently we have Google Apps for Education and the Superintendent has become concerned about FERPA laws, retention and back up. He is pushing hard for us to bring our email service on-site. He has gone as far as bringing our attorney in to this argument (I am fighting tooth and nail). I feel like I'm standing there dazed on mortal combat waiting on the final blow and forced to go to Exchange on-site. What my question is, what should I be prepared for? I have no experience with Exchange, so this is a whole new monster for me. All I've heard is that it's a scary one. Also, I need some new ammo to fight back with to stay on GAPPS for Edu.

Thanks in advance for any advice, arguments, or just letting me rant to people I feel will understand my fears.

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,193 Times in 1,006 Posts
    Blog Entries
    Welcome
    I've just had a look at the FERPA Wikipedia entry here: Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia and I think it may be better if you list out the concerens your Superintendant has as regards to email held there.
    Many of our member use Google Aps for education and have either mirgated from or back to Exchnage, so I imagine help will be quite forthcoming.
    Out of interst, If it is a case of retention, how long are you supposed to keep the mail for?

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by boltonmustang View Post