+ Post New Thread
EduGeek Joomla 1.5 Package Thread, Slideshow not working on new install in Projects:; Hi Guys, I have installed Joomla on our school site but the county only run win servers with IIS so ...
    Thank Post

Unhappy Slideshow not working on new install

Hi Guys,

I have installed Joomla on our school site but the county only run win servers with IIS so they have set the mysql up on a windows server. This makes things a bit harder as i can not alter the permissions on files myself.

As soon as i installed 1.53 i upgraded the site to 1.58 by uploading all of the new folders over the original. The only one i did not overwrite was templates as i saw someone mention that on here.

Before and after the upgrade i am unable to get the slideshow to work. I am new to joomla and the menu's are slightly confusing and all over the place and i can not for the life of me work out where settings are for it.

All i get is a grey box with a static loading bar saying "loading slideshow image".

Flash works on my machine fine and i have tested other machines and they see the same. I know i need to alter the configuration.php file permissions as i get the following error when i try to change any settings in global config.

An Error has occurred! Unable to open configuration.php file to write!

Is there a guide to what i have set for this file? 777 etc? and if this is the wrong setting is there likely to be another one causing the slideshow to fail? anyone got any suggestions here as i'm going to be a pain if i keep going back to my tech guy at county asking for individual files to be changed all the time.

I did do a number of searches on here for slideshow probs but came up with nothing similar.

Any suggestions appreciated.

Thanks

Thank Post
    It sounds as if it is permissions on your jsnslideshow folder, it needs to be writeable. Does you county not give you FTP access? Plesk access?
    See attached for files that need to be writable.