+ Post New Thread
Educational Software Thread, RM CC4 USB Install Problems in Technical; Im new to the forum here but i have been working for my college for 3 years now and we ...

Thank Post

RM CC4 USB Install Problems

Im new to the forum here but i have been working for my college for 3 years now and we have always used RM software. (Not that im a big fan)

We have CC4 installed on 5 campuses. Over the last few months we have been having issues at one campus.

When a user staff or student with a basic account plugs a usb device into the pc, be it a usb pen or camera, tablet it asks to install the driver. This is the generic windows xp driver. It should install by itself, but it asks for a administrator to install it.

A logon box pops up for the local admin to type in details. Now i have an admin account so when i plug a device in it does it all by itself no need for me to type anything in.

But if the user takes that device to another campus and plugs it into another CC4 station (its the same build and same hardware) it will install no problem, with out asking for admin to install.

Has anyone else experianced this?

RM are not very helpfull and i know there are issues with CC4, you can read about it all over the web, but they deny it and say it all works perfect. They seem reluctant to let anyone know there is a problem.

rad
    Thank Post
    Not seen this before, I take it your call with RM is still open?

Have you tried building a computer on site where usb works and moving to site where usb doesn't work (I mean a physical computer base unit) what happens?

Thank Post
    yes i have a call in with RM.

Iv not tried to build a pc in one location and then move it to another.

At the moment i have created a local profile for staff to use when asked for install. This is just a work around and i dont want to leave this in place incase students get hold of it.

I will maybe try that tomorrow.