+ Post New Thread
Educational Software Thread, Teaching SQL - How do you do it? in Technical; Hi All - long time reader first time poster, hope someone here can lend a hand I work as a ...

Thank Post

Teaching SQL - How do you do it?

Hi All - long time reader first time poster, hope someone here can lend a hand

I work as a tech support in a college using RM CC3, and an IT lecturer has asked me to look into a way that students can be taught SQL, in the locked down environment that we give them.

The first problem I have is that said lecturer has written some code in Visual Basic Express, linking to a database on her network drive. SQL will not support UNC or remote accessing the database, meaning we will have to access it locally (C:\ drive) - this is no good to us unfortunately.

We have thought about installing Virtual PC and then putting an image into their user area, but we are conscious that giving students an essentially free reign over a PC may have repurcussions with what they do on the network!

What do you other schools/colleges/HE's do for teaching SQL? what environment and software do you use?

Cheers
    Mark

Thank Post
    You could setup a virtual image to allow certain functions which then reverts back to a 'start' state each time they log off. I haven't really done anything with SQL so i don't know the ins and outs but that is what various course providers have done in workshop environments.

Thank Post
    I think virtual PC is the way to go. I believe that RM have advertised it for this use in the past. I remember reading something about students learning programming and other such things on RM using virtual PC.

Never tried it myself though.

4. Thanks to dalsoth from:

mbeet (10th June 2009)

Thank Post
    Don't know if this would work or not - but could you set it to save in their local profile on the workstation - and then save/export to their network drive on logoff (an xcopy or something?).