+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Educational Software Thread, Any primary schools out there doing 3D printing? in Technical; I work as an ICT teacher at a London based private primary school. We've recently decided to introduce a 3D ...

Thank Post

Any primary schools out there doing 3D printing?

I work as an ICT teacher at a London based private primary school. We've recently decided to introduce a 3D printing topic over this term with our Y6 classes - the first time we've ever done it.

The biggest issue for us has been finding a way of scaffolding it for 10-11 year olds. All softwares we have found have been aimed more at secondary school children. There's an amazing one called Tinkercad which would be perfect were it not for the $1000 a month (for 10 licences!) price for using it. Our children are currently designing their own robot models using FreeCAD (opensource) - simple and free, but with lots of issues at the moment too with memory floods. When it eventually arrives, we'll be printing off their designs on a Cube3D printer. The entire topic is very trial and error - realising issues around the subject each lesson and solving problems when we come to them!

As far as we can tell, we're the only primary school in the country that's currently doing this. Does anyone know anyone else who is? It would be very useful to share ideas or suggestions. Alternatively, once this is done we're happy to offer any thoughts!

Cheers!

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,684 Times in 1,499 Posts
    How about Printcraft minecraft 3d printing?

Ben

Thank Post
    Have you considered something like GoogleSketchUp? or whatever its called since rename?

Steve

Thank Post

Thank Post
    Or 3dtin or even <shudders> blender (well - you did say FreeCad was easy!). I'd think even OpenScad might be OK depending on the aims of the lesson and the age of the students.

Amazing to hear someone is doing this in a Primary School. Good luck!

Thank Post