+ Post New Thread
Educational Software Thread, Suggestions appreciated for Software to run Forums to support Student Learning in Technical; Hi I am new to Edugeek so apologies if this sort of information has already been discussed. We are trying ...

Thank Post

Suggestions appreciated for Software to run Forums to support Student Learning

Hi

I am new to Edugeek so apologies if this sort of information has already been discussed.

We are trying to create an environment whereby the students (aged 11-18) get information electronically from staff and other students by subject area under the banner of independent learning.
    We do not have a well supported or well developed VLE and the ICT staff are snowed under - so we are looking to create a more independent environment that is easy to set up and maintain by academic staff.
    It seems that the ideal environment to achieve this is using a hosted forum software suite without being too expensive or in the case of some free hosted sites passing their personal information to 3rd parties and/or being age restricted (13+).

I have looked at and tinkered with Proboards which is just perfect (categories, boards, sub-boards, polls, moderators, calendar and other features) - it would be perfect but we cannot really go with it due to the commercial implications and age restriction on use.

I've looked but nothing obvious pops up - I am sure Moodle has an offering but that is probably off the menu due to the problems I have mentioned earlier - I would be very grateful to hear your wisdom on this ...!

Many Thanks

Thank Post
    I'd take a look at what this is going to cost Vs a re-vamp by an external supplier of the current VLE.

Moodle is a great tool when set up correctly and people know how to use it and its free. It could do this forum thing with ease and loads of other things.

3. Thanks to RichB from:

Twiddler (18th July 2013)

Thank Post
    Thanks RichB.