+ Post New Thread
Educational IT Jobs Thread, Help for 2 Year Experienced Young IT Technician in United Kingdom (UK) Specific Forums; Hello, I am 18, soon to be 19, and I have been working for a company who looks after infant, ...

Thank Post

Help for 2 Year Experienced Young IT Technician

Hello,

I am 18, soon to be 19, and I have been working for a company who looks after infant, junior and primary schools. I have been working for this company since an apprentice in 2010 ( NVQ Level 2 IT Practitioner ). I also hold a full UK driving licence and own my own car. Although I have some experience in the trade I am finding it almost impossible to find another job, could this be due to my age or possibly not enough qualifiactions?

I am soon to start on a course which will cover and qualify me in:
    •Windows 7 configuration
    •CompTIA A+ training essentials
    •CompTIA A+ training for practical application
    •CompTIA Network+ N10-004
    •CompTIA Server+ SKO-002
    •CompTIA Security+ SY0-301

I feel schools are the way forward for me as I already have experience working in schools; although i am willing to work elsewhere.

Does anyone have any Hints/tips to help?

Thanks in anticipation of your help,

Jamie

Thank Post
    I feel schools are the way forward for me as I already have experience working in schools; although i am willing to work elsewhere.

Does anyone have any Hints/tips to help?

I'd say, to be honest, it's the current climate! In my opinion the education sector isn't particularly strong at the moment for jobs with there being cuts left, right and centre.

Have you tried applying for jobs in business?

ESP - Education Support Professionals is a good place to get in touch with too.

3. Thanks to Edu-IT from:

Will_Townsend (14th March 2012)

Thank Post