+ Post New Thread
Educational IT Jobs Thread, Help for an inexperienced IT Technician? in United Kingdom (UK) Specific Forums; Hi, I am a 24 year old pc technician. I am qualified to the City and Guilds diploma level 3 ...

Thank Post

Help for an inexperienced IT Technician?

Hi,

I am a 24 year old pc technician. I am qualified to the City and Guilds diploma level 3 standard, I have also undertaken a foundation degree in applied computing. Also I have taken a bachelorís degree course which was again in applied computing. Yet it seems to be impossible to obtain a job in the ICT field! All the companies seem to want people who have 2 or more years experience. I have no experience as I have been working in retail for nearly 5 years to fund my education. The only form of experience that I suppose I do have is placements, modern apprenticeships etc. through college but no company seems to be interested in these.

I have researched into how people have made their initial break into the ICT industry. All I can seem to find is
    that people have worked for companyís voluntary straight from college and have been kept on. I cannot afford to work voluntary for a company as I work full time.

I am willing to take any courses via college day release or night school etc. that a company would want me to so as to bring my knowledge up to the required standard, but I cannot seem to find the initial break.

Does anyone have any advice/ tips that I can follow?

It seems to be the usual not what you know itís who you know scenario and I seem to know nobody.

Also it worries me that as each year passes there are more people qualifying which means more people for fewer jobs.

I am from Mansfield, Nottinghamshire and I would like to work in a school or college as I have experiecne of the enviroment. That said though I am not limiting my self to just educational establishments for employment.

Thanks in advance for any help given

Peter

Thank Post