+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Educational IT Jobs Thread, Advice sought: Senior Technician to Manager in United Kingdom (UK) Specific Forums; Hi, I've been working at my current job for 6 years now and along the way I have gone from ...
    Thank Post

Advice sought: Senior Technician to Manager

Hi,

I've been working at my current job for 6 years now and along the way I have gone from ICT Technician to Senior Tech and my role has changed and grown lots. I like this school and enjoy the job but I want to take the next step and become an ICT Manager. I am liked and respected here and the quality of my work is always of a very high standard. My manager has successfully allocated some money for my Microsoft Certification (seeing as in today's world a degree in Computer Science means nothing) but I am not sure this will be enough.

My questions are:
    1- which are the best qualifications to get with a view to a managerial role? They havent been very specific about what training I can have but they gave me the link to the Microsoft Certification overview, which of course has Architec, Master and IT Professional in it.
    2- What else must I do to push my career forward, be it in this school or the next?

Next week I will have the final talks with regards to my new contract and will officially go from Tech to Senior Tech, though unofficially I've been the Senior Tech for the last 2 years. Is there anything specific I should ask for or check for during the meeting?
    I had prepared a short list of questions such as: is there scope for further development and things of that nature.

I believe that having been a tech for all of my after-uni working life and in one place, has kept me in the dark.

Any pointers and/or advice are greatly appreciated.

Thank Post
    Hi,