+ Post New Thread
Educational IT Jobs Thread, Applying for NM roles in United Kingdom (UK) Specific Forums; I am a Senior Infrastructure Technician at my current role. Along with my NM & a normal tech. I would ...
    Thank Post

Applying for NM roles

I am a Senior Infrastructure Technician at my current role. Along with my NM & a normal tech.

I would like to apply for NM roles however I do not have management experience, nor supervising or much in the way of budget managing.

Although I am higher up than the tech, I do nothing like appraisals, supervisions etc.

I've seen a few NM roles but in the essential criteria stuff like:

• Previous experience of the management of IT provision and strategy
    • Previous experience of supervision of staff
    • Experience of leading programes of ICT development
    • Experience of monitoring andpreparing budgets

I have parts of the above, as I assist the NM in IT provision, give my input and discuss strategy with NM & SMT. I give advice, support & train the tech whever I can.

How have others made the jump? Should I still apply? The role I have seen recently has 1 NM, 1 Senior tech and 2 normal techs. The NM role is being advertised, but I'm guessing the senior tech would probably apply with similar knowledge / experience apart from have hands on experience of the network already.

Thank Post
    I would just apply. At least if you get an interview you know you are in with a chance. Be prepared for rejection, because as you say there are a few things you don't have experience of but keep chipping away and someone will give you a chance.
    Other things you can try and do if possible at your current place is ask to be in charge of some small projects or at least do some of the ground work for them and try and tie this in for some delegating of duties to the Tech if you can. This may of course depend on you internal politics etc.