+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Educational IT Jobs Thread, What would you do? in United Kingdom (UK) Specific Forums; Hi all, I'm pretty new here, don't post often, but always glean lots of valuable information from this forum, so ...

Thank Post

What would you do?

Hi all,

I'm pretty new here, don't post often, but always glean lots of valuable information from this forum, so thanks to all you regulars who contribute!

I have a little conundrum and thought i'd get the opinions of those who know exactly what i'm talking about. To avoid complications, I won't go into exact specifics.

Basically, i'm an IT Technician, employed in an inner-city secondary for the last three years. I've been told by our head that as of April i'm being sub-contracted out to a local primary school for one day per week. I asked what was in this for me, and I was told - nothing (no big surprise there).

Having now been to look at the primary, i've seen that they essentially need a network manager. I can do the work required, but i'm a little annoyed that i've not been given a choice in the matter and i'm going to remain on the same (quite poor) technician's salary for continuing that role 4 days per week, and taking on the responsibility of another school.

What does everybody think?

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,214 Times in 823 Posts
    It's a huge change in your contract, with a lot of extra responsibility - are you in a union? I'd make them aware immediately.

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,455 Times in 1,716 Posts
    Whilst I feel your pain ( I am the lone tech in a middle-deemed-secondary and a junior school) I think you will find that there isnt much you can do about it.
    Will it impact your present job?
    The other way is to get the job desc from your local authority - for example mine has two levels of tech before you get to NM, but NM has budget responsibility so I won't get that - but I am pushing hard for senior tech!