+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Educational IT Jobs Thread, Network Manager positions in United Kingdom (UK) Specific Forums; I'm wondering if anyone could help me on this one. I am currently working as a Senior ICT Technician and ...

Thank Post

Network Manager positions

I'm wondering if anyone could help me on this one. I am currently working as a Senior ICT Technician and have been doing so for the last 4 years, at my last place I ran the network on my own for the best part of a year and half. In total I have racked up 5 years experience in education and have attended or graduated with the following qualifications:

HND in Business IT and computing
    Cisco Certified Entry Network Technician (CCENT)
    RM Certified Network Manager
    RM Certified Network Technician

Currently studying for part 2 exam to gain my CCNA

Attended 2 training days titled "Managing a technicial support team"

Completed the Cisco Networking Academy.

On this basis would you think I should be seriously considered for a Network Manager position in an education setting or am I falling short somewhere?

At my last school I got screwed over, left waiting and waiting for promotion, lots of failed promises. In the end on the day I handed in my notice they promoted the guy below me without even giving me an opportunity at the position they offered him. Typical I suppose but nothing I could do as I had already tendered my resignation at that point.

Cheers
    Adam.

zag
    Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    Sure, it doesn't take much more than that to become a network manager.

CCNA is pretty pointless imo, my day to day job mostly involves working with windows server and the security side of things.

Why wait for promotion? Start applying to different schools and see whats out there.

RM stuff is also useful in education but its far better to learn the skills of a vanilla network.

Thank Post