+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Educational IT Jobs Thread, Experience and/or Higher Education in United Kingdom (UK) Specific Forums; Looks like a great job, in my area too. Times like this I wish I'd gone to uni....

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,294 Times in 884 Posts

Experience and/or Higher Education

Looks like a great job, in my area too. Times like this I wish I'd gone to uni.

@ the back of my server racks farting.....
    Thank Post
    Gone to Uni?!?!?!?!?! Why?

I've been a Network Manager and not gone Uni...............

You could apply for it?

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,294 Times in 884 Posts
    Yeah I suppose it wouldn't hurt to apply, either way, thanks for sharing

Thank Post
    Doesnt matter if someone has a degree/gone uni compared to a person who hasnt.

My last school I worked at I outperformed all my predecessors who were educated at a high level.

Never be put off chap.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,890 Times in 1,170 Posts
    Blog Entries
    Another non-degree person here ... a firm believer in the meritocracy of getting a job done and doing it well!

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,070 Times in 935 Posts
    Another non-degree person here just because they mention it if you have the skills go and show them off

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by GrumbleDook View Post
    a firm believer in the meritocracy of getting a job done and doing it well!
    Top attitude +1

Thank Post
    Although a degree is not the be all and end all, it shows a certain level of competency and is advantageous when applying for jobs. I spent 12 years part time doing a BTEC ONC, BTEC HNC, BSc and MSc as well as Microsoft qualifications. It definately opens doors and allows you to negotiate higher wages.

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Deeleys View Post