+ Post New Thread
Educational IT Jobs Thread, Leaving education... in United Kingdom (UK) Specific Forums; Hello, long time lurker here, I wish to leave my job in education to find something more challenging in the ...

Thank Post

Leaving education...

Hello, long time lurker here,

I wish to leave my job in education to find something more challenging in the private sector. However after applying to about 15 jobs (2nd/3rd line support, sysadmin, IT engineer, that sort of thing - all through recruiters) and not hearing anything back, I was wondering if any of you had advice on how to get my foot in the door.

I'm a senior IT technician at a large secondary school, where I've worked for three years since graduating with a computer science degree. I have a CCNA but no MS qualifications (just started the ball rolling on those). I'm currently in Leeds but am looking for work in London as I'd like to move down there.

I consider myself to be very knowledgeable in all aspects of Windows networking, and have a genuine passion for the field. I'm especially interested in the SBC, virtualisation and mobile spaces. However I'm concerned that the fact I work in school is preventing recruiters from putting me forward. Is working in a school still considered 'tin-pot' compared with private sector IT? I hope I'm wrong.

I'd like to land a job in the banking/finance/massive conglomerate sector, but I realise that may be a little ambitious as they all seem to require experience, so any company with a larger-scale IT setup would do me. I'd love some datacenter experience.

I've read that quite a few of you have successfully moved away from education, so I'd like to ask: where do you work now? How did you get into it?

Thanks for your time

Thank Post
    Have you considered working for one of the companies that do ICT support in education? It would be a stepping stone at least and your experience would come in useful to them (I'm thinking of people like RM etc.)

rad
    Thank Post