+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Educational IT Jobs Thread, my first ICT Technician interview in United Kingdom (UK) Specific Forums; Hi all, I have an interview coming up in a few days that will last half a day and have ...

Thank Post

my first ICT Technician interview

Hi all,

I have an interview coming up in a few days that will last half a day and have been told that it will consist of a written exam, practical exam and an interview. They said they can't tell me anything else. The post appears to be an Entry Level position as there are not many "Essential" criteria on the job specification and the salary appears to be quite low. What can I expect to be doing in the tests for an entry level position?

I have a Computing Science degree and since graduating my commercial experience has been in Software Development. I graduated in 2006. I don't have any Technician experience but one of the jobs I had as a software developer involved creating software for a school and I did work on site with the customer sometimes. I really want a change from the software development and recently attended a teaching taster course. Although I don't want to pursue a career in teaching I really enjoyed working in the school environment and that is why I have applied for the ICT Technician job.

I have never been to an interview for an ICT Technician job before and an wondering about the structure. Does the school interview all of the applicants on the same day? I am also worried coming from a software development background that many of the other applicants may have "technician skills" and that could mean that I don't really have much chance against them? I guess this depends how much emphasis the school puts on these particular skills.

I am just looking for any help/advice/support for a first interview experience.

Thanks in advance

Thank Post