+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Educational IT Jobs Thread, ICT Manager advice. in United Kingdom (UK) Specific Forums; Hi, i have been lurking around this forum for quite some time, just haven't registered until now. Before i start ...
    nc-

Thank Post

ICT Manager advice.

Hi, i have been lurking around this forum for quite some time, just haven't registered until now. Before i start with my question, this is an excelent forum.

I have an interview for an ICT Manager job next week and i am looking for some advice.

This is the info i have about the school,

• Secondary school with sixth form.
    • around 1700 students
    • around 600 PC's
    • Vanilla 2k3 network (i think)

I have 2 year experience as an IT tech, i know it doesn't sound much, but i have 3 MCP's (270,290 and 291) and expect to finish my MCSE by around August. At my current school there is me and another technician, a curriculum network manager and a systems manager. The curriculum manager has no certs and in my opinion a waste of space (he can't even create packages, restore backup data and he thinks our RM network doesn't have an AD!!!), he is best mates with the Systems manager. The systems manager is better he is good with SIMS and the phone system we have, but has no certs and little knowledge with Server 2k3 (but he can use google and usually find an answer). We have 2 networks, an RM network for students and admin network (teachers and other staff). When i first started my boss would hire a contractor to do any work regarding the servers (admin network), As i have been working on my MCSE he now gets me to do it all (no pay rise though ). We have about 1700 ish users, 400ish PC's, 200ish laptops, 50ish PDA's aswell as 75 IP cameras and IP phone system.