+ Post New Thread
Educational IT Jobs Thread, Average Salary for ICT Technician in United Kingdom (UK) Specific Forums; Hey Guys - First timer here. I currently work as an ICT Technician in the city of Brum in the ...

Thank Post

Cool Average Salary for ICT Technician

Hey Guys - First timer here.

I currently work as an ICT Technician in the city of Brum in the midlands.
    Came across this website and am very impressed as I didnt know of any IT forums specific to education apart from good old BECTA's website where I got some basic information on FITS - The school ITIL Framework.

They mention four differen types of technician:
    (a) Teaching Assistant
    (b) ICT Technician
    (c) Senior ICT Technician
    (d) Network Manager

My question relates to what do you think should be the average salary for (b) who does basic 1st / 2nd line support? In effect this person, resolves most I.T issues apart for 3rd line network stuff which is dealt by (d).

I have seen adverts posted from 14k to 18k across the UK.

I know salary varies from location, pro-rata, full/part time but what is the bog standard salary that a credible technician shouldnt go below? I feel sorry for some folks on a mediocre 12k.

brumboy.

Thank Post
    It varies greatly, a quick nose through the section you've posted in here will yield some results.

Thank Post
    There's also a lot of variation in weeks worked. My contract is term time + 15 days (5 of which are TED) The salary for my scale is multiplied by a little over 0.9.

Thank Post
    May be useful. Not education-specific, but still a decent information source.

IT Jobs Watch, Tracking the IT Job Market

Thank Post
    They mention four different types of technician:
    (a) Teaching Assistant
    (b) ICT Technician
    (c) Senior ICT Technician
    (d) Network Manager
    OK obviously this varies greatly depending on where you are in the country, but I will base this on the maximum salary I have ever seen for these roles.

a) £12k