+ Post New Thread
Educational IT Jobs Thread, MCSE/MCSA? in United Kingdom (UK) Specific Forums; Hi all, just joined the forums after seeing the site on google - very useful stuff! I'm an IT Technician ...
    Thank Post

MCSE/MCSA?

Hi all, just joined the forums after seeing the site on google - very useful stuff!

I'm an IT Technician in a North London high school at the moment and am just wondering whether it's worth getting a qualification such as an MCSE/MCSA? Also, is it pointless getting a qualification lower than those?

We have an RM network but I also don't have an RM technicians qualification (yet... thinking of getting it). I do on the other hand have a few years experiences and an honours degree in Microcomputer Systems Technology... how does this all weigh up?

Hope someone can give me an insight :-)

Thanks!

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    everyone seems to have microsoft quals and I don't think it really means anything to have them anymore!! (well... it does...) Experience + Quals is most important. Go on a few courses and get the certificates... thats what I do!

3. Thanks to Joanne from:

speckytecky (29th April 2008)

Thank Post
    Have a look at the similar threads and do a bit of a search around as well on here there is many a topic on this sort of thing.
    These days the certs seem to get you past the HR filter but might not mean much past that. Experience is the key and experience and quals are even better. You can do one exam and become an MCP. This might help you when applying for jobs as this will get you past the 'Must have an MCP' type of job ads.
    Alternatively look at other things like foundation degrees etc.

Thank Post
    Get an MCP, then you can move to MCSA, and build up to an MCSE.

You also need to think outside the MS-box, so consider a CCNA.

More important is to concentrate on experience however.

6. Thanks to Diello from:

Thank Post