+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Educational IT Jobs Thread, New job in United Kingdom (UK) Specific Forums; Hi everyone Ive got a new job as an IT Support technician I start on Monday 14th April. Can anyone ...

Thank Post

New job

Hi everyone Ive got a new job as an IT Support technician I start on Monday 14th April. Can anyone give me any tips and pointers on what I might expect and peoples experiences from their first day at work.

Thank Post
    congrats.

My advice is not to worry if you don't feel like you fit in or don't understand exactly what's going on. We're all like that for the first week or two. It's important to remain positive, and before long you'll be an old hand with the job and at dealing with you're colleagues.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,811 Times in 1,559 Posts
    Blog Entries
    is it in a school or a company?

z

Thank Post
    Its in a school. Im just abit wary of the teachers and how to interact with them. Do you call them by their first name or surname? Ive never worked in a school so dont know what to expect in terms of what i will be doing.

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    We call them by there first name but in front of a class or students by there surname. Some times its hard to remember or if you forget there surname because you are used to first name terms.

Thank Post
    You tend to call them by there first name when there are no students around and always, from my experience call tme by there surnames when there are students/parents present.

However, if its a more casual school that may not be the case. I would play it safe to begin with, they should give you the staff handbook to have a look trough on your first day etc, and if all else fails, do what the rest do.

Thank Post
    Imagine walking into a class of students and saying Sue you called?

Thank Post
    Followed by all the kids then using that name for the rest of the term and using the excuse, 'Well sir called you Sue... Sue!'

Thank Post