+ Post New Thread
Educational IT Jobs Thread, Year 10 - Looking for Work Experience in United Kingdom (UK) Specific Forums; Hello, I've seen people talking about work experience for year 10s here, and I was curious if I could find ...

Thank Post

Question Year 10 - Looking for Work Experience

Hello, I've seen people talking about work experience for year 10s here, and I was curious if I could find something here. So, I've got work experience 7-11th July 2014 (I think) and I'm looking for places to go. I have basic knowledge of IT and things, having built my own computer by hand too, and I'm looking for some kind of thing with IT, or developing or something. If I had some places, I will start on writing a application too, that is why there is not much info here :P.

Anyways, thanks for looking, I'm based around Devon.

-Elliot

Thank Post
    Elliot,
    You're the first person I've seen being this proactive and on that merit alone I'd give you some experience if you were any where near! Unfortunately I'm in West Yorkshire, but I hope someone helps you out.
    All the best.
    Mic

Thank Post
    Have you tried asking your school?

In the past, we've taken on students for a week and get them to assist with a little office tidying - they tend to find stuff about their age hanging around and also setting up new policies to roll out software, run through of MDT, some shadowing while supporting staff etc. If you have a big network, then your school would be quite a good place to think about.

EDIT: As your location is listed as Exeter, there are loads of big IT places around there - Met Office, AI Corporation (yes, I know it sounds like an evil company from a weird robot film), I think Eclipse (ISP) is still based in Exeter and many more.
    Last edited by DrPerceptron; 4th October 2013 at 09:31 AM.

Thank Post