+ Post New Thread
Educational IT Jobs Thread, ICT technician advice in United Kingdom (UK) Specific Forums; Hello everyone! I am a recent graduate from college who earned a foundation degree in network infrastructure. I have left ...

Thank Post

ICT technician advice

Hello everyone!

I am a recent graduate from college who earned a foundation degree in network infrastructure. I have left my job (not IT related) in August hoping to find a new career in IT and have spent some time trying to apply for jobs (mainly through sites like Jobserve, CWJobs, etc), however so far this did not prove particularly successful.

Just wondering if I could get some advice from the forum members please – not entirely sure what to do next to be honest. I am happy to volunteer my time in return for experience, but again had no luck when contacting a few of my local schools and companies.

I have a great interest in the world of IT, a good IT skill set and one day I am hoping to find employment in this field as an ICT technician. I already have some relevant IT experience, but this is not particularly recent.

I would be grateful for any advice or if anyone knows of any volunteering opportunities in the Yorkshire area, I would also greatly appreciate any support there.

Just to give you a bit of idea of my background, here's the link to my CV – click.

Thanks a lot!
    Last edited by am3rig0; 26th November 2012 at 11:50 AM.

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,425 Times in 1,775 Posts
    The jobs market is VERY slow at the moment. To be honest, while you are out of your ideal line of work try to get a job doing something else. It doesn't matter what the job is, it'll show that you are capable of getting out of bed in the morning and turning up to work come rain or shine and that you are capable of working with other people... and you'll get a reference!