+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
East Midlands Broadband Consortium (EMBC) Thread, Primary School Requirements in Regional Broadband Consortiums (RBC); Hi, not sure if this is the right website or forum to get information ... but here I am. I ...

Thank Post

Primary School Requirements

Hi, not sure if this is the right website or forum to get information ... but here I am. I am not technical and will ask stupid questions!

I am working on a local team to get a community broadband solution into a rural area. We had been looking at using EMBC as a potential supplier of a bearer for a wireless provider by using 80% of a primary school with a 100meg bearer. the costs EMBC have provided are ridiculous.

However, in looking at this solution I am scandalised at the prices the primaries are going to have to pay for their broadband (about 50% of a teacher's salary) and I don't want the schools in the area making the choice to have less teachers. Consequently our wireless provider has had a look and said they could provide the schools the service for a lot less.

My problem is that I don't understand what services schools require in order that I can make an initial judgement before talking to school heads. Does anyone have a link to some guidance, or a short summary of what schools MUST have in place and what they might also want in place?

any guidance appreciated ... I don't want the schools being lead on a dance here, but any alternative MUST be secure and watertight.

Cheers.

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by mbudzi View Post
    any guidance appreciated ... I don't want the schools being lead on a dance here, but any alternative MUST be secure and watertight.

Cheers.
    The problem you'll find is as with anything, the cost isn't "just" broadband. It's firewalls, logging, security, filtering, support etc etc.

The list goes on, Just giving a school a broadband connection, they could sign that themselves.