East Midlands Broadband Consortium (EMBC) Thread, 553 Message rejected - see http://dnsbl.invaluement.com in Regional Broadband Consortiums (RBC); Afternoon all,
Just tried to reply to a supplier I'm looking to order some items form only to have the ...
-
7th February 2012, 04:59 PM #1 553 Message rejected - see http://dnsbl.invaluement.com
Afternoon all,
Just tried to reply to a supplier I'm looking to order some items form only to have the e-mail returned from emailalerts@embc.uk.com with the following error message:
553 Message rejected - see invaluement Anti-Spam Blacklist, a DNSBL or DNS Blacklist | ivmSIP, aka "rbl" | ivmURI, a uribl like surbl.org
We've been using these suppliers for a few years now and today out of knowwhere this strange error message is coming up!
Anyone got any ideas as to why it's being rejected? I'm not sure if it's the EMBC side or the suppliers side but seeing as the e-mail was coming from emailalerts@embc.uk.com thought I'd try here first
-
-
IDG Tech News
-
7th February 2012, 10:54 PM #2 EMBC use MailMarshal for filtering and that also pulls from a number of RBLs for spam checks. It might be that the supplier's mail host has been blacklisted and just been picked up ... I am presently chasing this down with one firm about this on behalf of a few schools and the LA. Drop me an email tomorrow with which one it is and the support reference and I'll see if it is linked.
In a previous school (non-EMBC connection) I found that our mail host had been submitted to an RBL and it was a pig to get it released. I ended up just changing the MX records to a different IP in the end and reNATed it to the right box.
-
-
8th February 2012, 01:35 PM #3 Morning Tony,
I've raised a request with the service desk, they asked that I sent some example e-mails over and hopefully they will be getting back in contact with a support reference number which I'll hopefully be able to e-mail you in the next half an hour or so.
Just to add to the original issue;
Today I've had one member of staff forwarded to me a rejected e-mail that had the same error message as I got yesterday regarding the IP address being blocked by an anti spam site. Although worryingly a different spam site this time!
Also, probably a coincidence but we've had a few members of staff at the school here, and the local primary I work at, complaining about e-mails being rejected over the last few days or not getting through at all. E-mails being sent to addresses that up until a few days ago used to go through perfectly fine! Like I said, probably a coincidence in a lot of cases but something to bare in mind.
[EDIT] - PM sent with reference number. Don't have your e-mail address.
Last edited by Sam_Brown; 8th February 2012 at 01:46 PM.
-
-
9th February 2012, 09:52 PM #4 I've been following this up again today ... and yes, it looks like the RBLs have been having a good one! Tom & co on the desk have got the offending IP off the various lists it appears and things should be back to normal now.
-
SHARE:
Similar Threads
-
By jumpinjamez in forum Virtual Learning Platforms
Replies: 1
Last Post: 27th June 2007, 07:15 PM
-
By roland in forum How do you do....it?
Replies: 1
Last Post: 7th June 2007, 07:25 AM
-
By Stese in forum General Chat
Replies: 1
Last Post: 9th March 2007, 02:10 PM
-
By Simcfc73 in forum Networks
Replies: 6
Last Post: 17th September 2006, 09:39 AM
-
By Rozzer in forum Windows
Replies: 7
Last Post: 20th September 2005, 12:45 PM
Thread Information
Users Browsing this Thread
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules