+ Post New Thread
Courses and Training Thread, Cross Curricular use of ICT in Training and Courses; Hi everyone, I've been asked to source some sort of training to promote the use of Cross Curricular ICT within ...

Thank Post

Cross Curricular use of ICT

Hi everyone,

I've been asked to source some sort of training to promote the use of Cross Curricular ICT within school. Unfortunately, with me being from a non-teaching background, my knowledge on this subject area is very weak (although my role is heading towards being responsible for this area, at the moment I am just starting out and don't really know where I am going with it) and as a result I am looking at bringing somebody in to provide this training.

Has anyone done something similar in the past? Is there a company who you've used to provide this type of training before?

Any suggestions you can offer on this will be greatly appreciated.

Iain

Thank Post
    Sharing best practice between departments is also good. We find that some of our best INSET for ICT is when departmental 'champions' run the sessions... basically showing off stuff that they've found works well for them.

Cross-curricular is pretty broad so you may want to get your brief narrowed... VLE usage or electronic communications pehaps? E-safety is another good one (MS can maybe help you there).

3. Thanks to Ric_ from:

Iain.Faulkner (25th May 2010)

Thank Post
    Thanks for that Ric.

Having re-read the email, the phrase being used is "subject specific pupil use of ICT". My interpretation of this is that the school want to provide our staff with ideas on how they can get students using ICT within specifici subjects, ie they want someone to stand at the front and fire off ideas at them.

Any further thoughts?

Thank Post