+ Post New Thread
Courses and Training Thread, What route to take? in Training and Courses; I'm currently in my 1st year at Uni studying Computing for Business but I'm unsure if this is the right ...

Thank Post

What route to take?

I'm currently in my 1st year at Uni studying Computing for Business but I'm unsure if this is the right route.

Previous to going to Uni I had the fortunate chance of working as a tech part time at my school while doing A-Levels. Having left this role now I now have realized that I want a future career as an ICT tech. (Am I mad?)

My main question is should I continue my degree and try to apply for jobs when I complete that or should I try to find an apprenticship course and work from there (I've just applied tonight to do a Zenos one)

Thanks for any help and advice you might be able to give me.

If I've missed anything out or you want to ask anything please feel free.

Thank Post
    I regretted dropping out of my degree course - not so much dropping that course as not doing a degree at all. It's much harder to pick up again later. I would persist, but that's a very personal decision that you need to make yourself.

You might do a sandwich course with a year in industry perhaps?

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    my last place wouldnt consider anyone without a degree for the low-paid 'tech' job

although in saying that I ended up being more like an assistant network manager so can kinda see why they wanted someone with a bit more than being able to swap out a broken fuse

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,248 Times in 1,031 Posts
    Blog Entries
    What exactly is 'Computing for Business' anyway?
    More to the point though is that almost all uni level IT courses are largely irrelevant to the needs of being a techy IMHO. The CASA, NASA and CANE courses that Lancaster uni did were pretty good, but these were still seperate from a degree, and have now unfortunately been discontinued.

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Dos_Box View Post