+ Post New Thread
Courses and Training Thread, Student looking to be an IT Technician in Training and Courses; I am a student in Norwich and currently in Year 11. I am looking to see about courses / qualifications ...
    Thank Post

Student looking to be an IT Technician

I am a student in Norwich and currently in Year 11. I am looking to see about courses / qualifications that I would need to be an IT Technician. I do know quite a bit about computers and help to fix family and friends pc's and also some of the teachers at my school. I have been looking at some of the courses at City College Norwich which offer, but not sure exactly what I need.
    Any help appreciated
    Thanks
    Reece

***EDIT***
    Sorry if this is in the wrong forum

Thank Post
    If you want to become an IT Technician in education, and want to ensure you do training at the same time, I would recommend getting in touch with your local college and asking about Modern Apprenticeships. There's nothing wrong with starting at the bottom and working up - you'd start on an NVQ level 2 or 3 (depending on GCSE results and your own knowledge) and probably be able to work towards other courses like A+ or MSCDT on your college release days.

If you are in no rush to become one and want to study full time at college etc, I'd check with ones in your area to find out what courses are available.

3. Thanks to mb2k01 from:

reecec (31st October 2009)

Thank Post
    My local college has got some open days at the end of next week, so I am going to have a look there as well.
    Thanks

Thank Post
    No worries! Do you have a preference over work-based training or full time college at the minute?