+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Courses and Training Thread, Paying back training fee if i leave ?? in Training and Courses; Hello, i am a IT technician at a school in Leicestershire, i was recently sent on a Microsoft training course ...

Thank Post

Paying back training fee if i leave ??

Hello, i am a IT technician at a school in Leicestershire, i was recently sent on a Microsoft training course 70-291. This was enable me to help out more on the network side of things to help out our network manager.
    I have now been asked by the business manager to sign a contract that states that if i leave within 6 months i have to pay back 100% of the fee, between 6 months and a year 75%, between 1 year and 18 months 50% and between 18 months and 2 years 25%.

My question is are there any other technicians especially from Leicestershire that have encountered this ? The business manager says its a council policy, however the document has no logo or name on.

cheers

Thank Post
    Did you ask to go on the course? or did the school ask you to do it?

Thank Post
    If you have had the training, then why sign? They should have notified you before you took the class. There is no way I would sign that after the event.

I doubt that they could force you to sign, though you could always use the "I will check with my union rep first" bluff and see what your boss says.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,062 Times in 753 Posts
    It is normal procedure but usually asked before you attend the course, i would think that it has been an afterthought on behalf of your HR or they are incredibly slow.

I wouldn't read to much into it unless you are thinking of leaving them suddenly in which they are only safeguarding themselves as would you in their position.

Thank Post
    Hi, ozzy, they asked me if i wanted to go on the course, and ICT_GUY, yeah i had the same thought, why sign if i've already done it.