+ Post New Thread
Courses and Training Thread, Any training advice? in Training and Courses; I currently work as an ICT technician in a secondary school - i'm self taught up 'til now, something that ...

Thank Post

Question Any training advice?

I currently work as an ICT technician in a secondary school - i'm self taught up 'til now, something that has served me well so far but which might not let me make the jump to better paid jobs.

So, i'd like to do some training. I'm thinking a Microsoft qualification to relect my experience so far (AD, group policy, user administration, a bit of exchange fiddling); i'm assuming MCSA or MCSE are the ones to look at (not sure on the difference, any clues?).
    Problem is money is a distinct issue and the majority of training courses and exams I've seen cost an awful lot - too much to risk on the wrong qualification or inferior training product. I realise i'm not going to get something for nothing, but i'm guessing as with everything there are bargains to be had if you know where to look.
    Can anyone share their experience? Has anyone found a cost-effective way to do such a qualification? Any pit-falls to avoid?

Cheers!

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by cheredenine View Post
    I currently work as an ICT technician in a secondary school - i'm self taught up 'til now, something that has served me well so far but which might not let me make the jump to better paid jobs.

So, i'd like to do some training. I'm thinking a Microsoft qualification to relect my experience so far (AD, group policy, user administration, a bit of exchange fiddling); i'm assuming MCSA or MCSE are the ones to look at (not sure on the difference, any clues?).