+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Courses and Training Thread, Thinking seriously about MCSE - but who/how to train in Training and Courses; As I have a reasonable amount of time to hand now and aware that the changes to the Microsoft partnership ...
    Thank Post

Thinking seriously about MCSE - but who/how to train

As I have a reasonable amount of time to hand now and aware that the changes to the Microsoft partnership agreement mean that I'll need to get some form of certification under my belt I'm looking at MCSE certs.

I'm self employed and whilst I can pass on some of the costs to client schools I need to be sensible about not spending thousands on courses when I know I'm not particularly attentive in such scenarios. I figure a more self-taught approach would be more sensible.

Can anyone recommend a good approach and/or supplier that has worked for them or that they'd recommend for someone in my situation?

I do have the time to dedicate to book learning and a setup that would allow me to practice various server and OS related tasks without destroying anything important. What I lack is funding for offline seminars or training at training centers.

Thanks in advance...

PEO
    Thank Post

Re: Thinking seriously about MCSE - but who/how to train

I've found the Microsoft Press books a good read. I also have the testout videos which goes through everything. also worth looking in the cheap book stores you can find plenty of good books in there. As i read and learn the material i make detailed study notes and try the examples for my self.

I'm using a server with 2003 r2 and a pc with xp.

I do practice exams and then book the main exam through PearsonVue

Thank Post

Quote Originally Posted by MrHappy
    Thanks for the rest of it... thought you should know about this on the pearsonvue site though:

Microsoft Certification Testing