+ Post New Thread
Courses and Training Thread, Network+...Where to go from here in Training and Courses; Hi all, brand new to this site, thought it was about time i got involved. I am currently studying my ...
    Thank Post
    Blog Entries

Network+...Where to go from here

Hi all, brand new to this site, thought it was about time i got involved.

I am currently studying my CompTIA Network+ course and i am due to complete it in February, and i have already completed CompTIA A+, along side also having an NVQ Level 2 in IT systems.

My question is where should i go from here, and what options are available to me?? And what do potential future Employers look for?

Any advice appreciated, but especially looking for people who have done what i have done

Regards.

Thank Post
    TBH, the list is endless...

You could see about doing the NVQ 3 in IT Systems (or equivalent) or jump straight onto the HNC in Computing course.

You could look at getting FITS, ITIL or MOF - best/good practice certs.

If you're looking at technology based certs, there's the Security+ and Server+ (both from Comptia) or if you work with specific technology, you could start working towards the MCSA (from Microsoft), the ACSP/ACTC (from Apple) and/or the RHCSA (from Redhat, a Linux distro).

As to what potential future Employers look for... Employers look for rounded people (I won't say well rounded people as certain skills will be developed on the job), people that have technical skills, soft skills, some with certain qualifications (this is dependent on the job and the organisation itself) and some don't require qualifications...

One other thing that you may be interested in is either the ICTTech professional registration from the ECUK or the higher CITP from the BCS.

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    Many thanks for your input