+ Post New Thread
Coding Thread, I need a kick up the posterior (Please) in Coding and Web Development; Hi All, Now I know you guys probably hate this kind of cliched question, but here goes. It runs along ...
    Thank Post
    Blog Entries

I need a kick up the posterior (Please)

Hi All,

Now I know you guys probably hate this kind of cliched question, but here goes. It runs along the line of that old chestnut 'What programming language should I learn/what type of hot beverage should I consume on a daily basis' but with a twist.

The truth is I know which one I want to learn, but i wanted to know what you guys thought. I really want to learn Ruby, and then Rails but I have no programming experience. The next thing is I'm one of those annoying people who like to do something different to the norm. I like Ruby's philosophy and the fact that it's fairly new and a bit punk (maybe?). In a nutshell I need some guidance.

NB My goal is to get into web development. I am currently an IT Tech at a school.

Thanks in advance

Thank Post
    Me too, I am thinking of doing Java through the OU but someone mentioned that this is old hat now.

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    C# is big because most web parts are coded with this in sharepoint.

I like VB/VB.net because it is (I think) quite easy and simple to pick up, but then I have worked with it for 7 years now (VB certainly)

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,201 Times in 814 Posts
    What guidance do you want? Sorry if I'm being thick, but if you know what you want to learn and why, what is it you're asking? (And that's not supposed to be as arsey as it reads BTW )

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    I find I get bombarded with thousands of opinions on what to learn and what not to learn, each one with another set of opposing posts. And then when you've decided there's that age old question 'what's the best way to learn'.

Thank Post
    Blog Entries