+ Post New Thread
Coding Thread, Custom IE Toolbar in Coding and Web Development; I'm looking to create a custom toolbar (for IE initially) that when clicked gets the address of the currently viewed ...

Thank Post

Custom IE Toolbar

I'm looking to create a custom toolbar (for IE initially) that when clicked gets the address of the currently viewed page and sends it to a PHP page.

Does anybody have any ideas how I might achieve this/links to tutorials that cover this.

Thanks,

Thank Post
    I don't think this is possible to do. Why would you want to do this?
    Sounds like proxy by passing to me. Firefox would be my best bet but as for IE... I doubt it.

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Pashers View Post
    Why would you want to do this? Sounds like proxy by passing to me.
    Hmmm, I work in a school - why would I want to create some kind of proxy bypassing script when a major part of my job is stopping the kids from doing the very same?

It's actually for a whitelist filter I've been working on. It currently allows staff to open up websites so that students can use them - works pretty well too.

I'm just looking to move it up a level, so that when a teacher is browsing the net all they have to do is click a button when they see a site that students may need access to.

Thank Post
    Is it me or is edugeek being funny today? I've done a similar thing, I've made a program that runs in the background and monitors the site a pupil goes onto then blocks it on a set of white/black list and also in different catagories.

Web Monitor

Would this be of any use?

Currently testing it in a few rooms at this school. Few bugs to fix (nothing major). But working well.

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Pashers View Post
    Is it me or is edugeek being funny today? I've done a similar thing, I've made a program that runs in the background and monitors the site a pupil goes onto then blocks it on a set of white/black list and also in different catagories.