+ Post New Thread
Coding Thread, Visual Basic 2008 LAN Chat Room in Coding and Web Development; I am currently a student at Sentinel Career Center's CCNT program (Computer Communications Network Technician). I was hoping to get ...

Thank Post

Visual Basic 2008 LAN Chat Room

I am currently a student at Sentinel Career Center's CCNT program (Computer Communications Network Technician). I was hoping to get some help making a simple chat room using visual basic from scratch. It has previously been suggested to me that I should use c4f p2p toolkit to do this. What fun is that though? I want to make it without outside programs but i havn't a clue how to make the chat room run in my classes LAN. No, I am not using this for evil, netsend in our class is not disabled (this was from another post I saw earlier I just wanted to clarify this). I want a simple program to display usernames and messages next to them that say 3 people viewing my program could read.

could you please give me some general direction as to what things i will need to look up to make this work.

I'm not looking for someone to write the code for me just to tell me what I would need to research and put the code together.

here is a simple layout of the program when it is run (what I hope it will be like)
    |user 3: i'm ok its a good thing they helped you on |
    | edugeek.net forums |
    |user 1: yea. |
    | |
    | |
    | |
    |________________________________________________|
    | [Send] |
    |________________________________________________|

Something to that effect.. i hope it doesnt make all that spaced out and ruined that took me a decent amount of time to draw out :\

anyways I would appreciate any direction that you can give me, and please i dont want any downloads i want to code this myself i just need general direction on what i would need to do to make this work.

Thank Post
    I'm not that hot on VB, but I code C/C++/C#/Perl/PHP/ASM