+ Post New Thread
Coding Thread, Java Attacks Can I Reverse The Effect ? in Coding and Web Development; Hi. I have a game server which is written in Java. One problem, someone released a program which can be ...

Thank Post

Exclamation Java Attacks Can I Reverse The Effect ?

Hi. I have a game server which is written in Java.

One problem, someone released a program which can be used on games like mine to crash them.

Basically it logs in hundreds of accounts using the name SYIPkpker(random letter)

This is getting really annoying as ive been attacked twice in the last 2 days so i was wondering is there a way i could make a If statement so if the name began with SYI it would block the connection and send it back ?

P.S. Im quite new to java

Thanks for your help

Brendan

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Warren-Plus View Post
    i was wondering is there a way i could make a If statement so if the name began with SYI it would block the connection and send it back?
    I don't know the details of the software you are running, but it sounds like somewhere you should find a bit of code that reads in the username from the user (probably something reading a variable in from an HTML GET or POST request). You need to check this String to see if it begins with "SYI". You could use one of the methods of the String class to do this:

String (Java 2 Platform SE v1.4.2)

Or use regular expressions:

Lesson: Regular Expressions (The Java™ Tutorials > Essential Classes)

Is this your first go at programming? You might find it a little tricky to wade right in with trying to fix someone else's code, you might want to write a bit of your own code first to get the idea of what you're doing.

--
    David Hicks

Thank Post
    Id just drop the IP via a htaccess for iptables (if you have root). You could even filter GET/POST via htaccess.

Thank Post
    Umm thats all confusing to me.

It is someone elses code but i have added things to it and edited others etc.