+ Post New Thread
Coding Thread, Visual Basic Database in Coding and Web Development; Hey all, So we still use an old fasioned system for our Projector Cleaning Rota. Head of I.T. Support set ...

Thank Post

Visual Basic Database

Hey all,
    So we still use an old fasioned system for our Projector Cleaning Rota. Head of I.T. Support set up an Excel sheet with all of the projectors in our school listed. The spreadsheet has different colums including the room that the projectors are in, the model of projectors, the date of when the last projector was cleaned and a traffic light system is currently used to check when the projectors need cleaning (Green is 0-99 Days, Yellow is 100-149 days and Red is 150+ days). This is all well and good but it just means that we need to constantly be checking the spreadsheet for which projectors need to be cleaned.

Now since I am only an apprentice, I go to college 1 day per week. Our next assignment at college is to design or code something in visual basic that will to someones needs. My lecturer suggested doing something to tie into work and to be honest I would love the oppertunity to be able to create something like this (I really love coding!), but I have no idea where to start with it all. I am pretty fluent in the things that I have been taught in visual basic but I don't think that I have the knowledge yet to create this sort of thing.

If anyone could point me in a good direction in terms of things I will need to know for this sort of project then that would be much appreciatied.

Thanks again guys,
    Matt

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,717 Times in 2,302 Posts
    Blog Entries
    Oh I hope you mean VB.net rather than VB6 from 1997 or so.