+ Post New Thread
Cloud Services Thread, Proper way to delete a mailbox in O365 hybrid environment in Technical; Hey guys, I'm relatively new to O365 and was wondering how to properly delete a user's mailbox in the cloud. ...

Thank Post

Proper way to delete a mailbox in O365 hybrid environment

Hey guys,
    I'm relatively new to O365 and was wondering how to properly delete a user's mailbox in the cloud. We are in a Hybrid environment so using the Admin Portal to find the user and click the trash-can does not work. I also don't see any options to delete a user's mailbox in the Exchange Management Console either.

I've seen a few posts saying to remove-mailbox in msol, but my concern is this: We have users who are also licensed for sharepoint and have stuff in OneDrive. If I remove the user completely from MSOL, will it also remove all their sharepoint / OneDrive stuff as well as the mailbox? I'm hoping it's just something I don't know about, like a commandlet after connecting to the cloud or something.

Thanks in advance!

P.S. Glad to see there's a forum like this out there!

Thank Post
    It sounds like you want to just remove the mailbox and not the user account? You could unlicense them for exchange.. The reason you can't just delete them in the portal is because you probably have Active Directory Synchronization turned on. With this on, all changes need to be done on-premise in your AD and then synced to the cloud. You could deactivate it (takes a while) and then your powershell command would work. Re-activate when done. The command should just remove the mailbox. MS tech support can help you with this too, just submit a ticket.
    Last edited by the_dude; 21st March 2014 at 05:22 PM.

Thank Post