+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Budgets and Expenditure Thread, crazy quote for new server! what do you think? in School Administration; Hi guys Im pretty new to working in schools, and i.t to be honest as this is my first job ...
    Thank Post

crazy quote for new server! what do you think?

Hi guys

Im pretty new to working in schools, and i.t to be honest as this is my first job and have only been here a few months.

I dont really no the politics of prices charges within education for work undertaken but when i recieved a qoute for 14k my mouth dropped. Being a savvy person ive asked for a more detailed breakdown of the qoute and instalation. What do you guys think of this price? what would you expect to pay?

We have been basically looking for a new server to upgrade our our old nt system. All the cableing is there, we need no software (except server 2003), the main reason to upgrade truly is because we constantly run out of space on the nt system (obvously i could pop another hard drive in but were after a longer term solution).

The nt system seems to serve us well considering its age and specs so a flash server is not really needed. We have 31 pcs around the school (all cabled in) and around 15 laptops linked via 5 access points. 3 networked printers.

we asked for a qoute from our council (hampshire)who run edict and swan, which supplies us with our internet, as it seems alote easier to go through them as they supply us with everything else.

this is a basic breakdown of the qoute (figures are rounded)

sc1430 school server = £1670
    server 2003 = 70
    ordering and handling = 200
    project management = 950
    instalation = 8000!!!!!!
    training 370
    edictnet product fee = 300

varous other smaller bits which we asked for that make up the rest but are quite insignificant